PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE





Meeting Minutes for Thursday, April 18, 2024, 1:30pm – 2:45pm Doyle Library, Room 141 & via Zoom

Zoom Link: https://santarosa-edu.zoom.us/j/89027983347

TOF	PIC	TIME
Notetaker: Alexa; Facilitator: Sarah		
1.	Approval of Meeting Minutes from 4/4/24 Meeting	1 minute
2.	Fall 2024 Planning	45 minutes
	a. Finalize Workshops	
	We had discussions regarding which workshops to finalize. We decided to reach out to a number of folks whose workshops we intended to deny for further conversation.	
	 Petaluma Campus Specific event (Sarah H) 	
	 Felicia Darling – 3 workshops reduced to 2 (Ann) 	
	 Katy Jamshidi – SR campus Biology CRISPR workshop (Alexa) 	
	b. Petaluma Campus Room Scheduling	
	Decided on scheduling most workshops in Call Building, but might also use other spaces. Presidents address in Ellis Auditorium with outdoor overflow. (Sarah following up with Petaluma Facilities folks)	
3.	Committee Function/Committee Structure Update Worked through responses to the survey (provided by Dr. Jeremy Smotherman), discussed our responses in light of recent correspondence we sent to college council.	15 minutes
4.	Professional Development webpage discussion Constituent groups provided very brief updates regarding what they have been working on.	5 minutes
5.	PD Plan	0 minutes
6.	Next Meeting agenda a. Meeting Date: May 2, 2024 b. Facilitator: Stephanie	2 minutes

Committee Function:

- 1. Organizes the Professional Development Activity Day Program for all employees;
- 2. Encourages thorough discussions among all District employees regarding professional development needs;
- 3. Sets professional development goals, both immediate and long range;
- 4. Collaborates with other committees on Professional Development matters;
- 5. Oversees the flexible calendar program (the "Flex Program") for the District;

6. When funding is available, reviews professional development projects/funding applications (AB1725 restricted funds for staff development);

7. Responds to training needs for critical College Initiatives.

Committee Membership:

Stephanie Dirks, Alexa Forrester, Ann Foster, Jessica Harris, Jill Harrison, Sarah Hopkins, Tammy Sakanashi, Ann Schott, Patsy Young, Osiris Zuberi.